Posted by Larry Gleeson

LOS ANGELES, CA Producer Janet Yang was elected president of the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences by the organizations Board of Governors.


Executive producer Janet Yang previous to a twenty fifth Anniversary screening of “The Joy Luck Club” introduced by the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences on Wednesday, August 22, 2018.

Janet is a tremendously devoted and strategic chief who has an unimaginable document of service on the Academy. She has been instrumental in launching and elevating a number of Academy initiatives on membership recruitment, governance, and fairness, variety, and inclusion, famous Academy CEO, Bill Kramer. I’m thrilled that she is taking over the esteemed function of Academy President and sit up for working carefully along with her on our shared imaginative and prescient to serve our membership, have fun the collaborative arts and sciences of movement footage, and encourage the subsequent era of filmmakers.


  • Teri E. Dorman, Vice President (chair, Membership Committee)
  • Donna Gigliotti, Vice President/Secretary (chair, Governance Committee)
  • Lynette Howell Taylor, Vice President (chair, Awards Committee)
  • Larry Karaszewski, Vice President (chair, History and Preservation Committee)
  • David Linde, Vice President/Treasurer (chair, Finance Committee)
  • Isis Mussenden, Vice President (chair, Museum Committee)
  • Kim Taylor-Coleman, Vice President (chair, Equity and Inclusion Committee)
  • Wynn P. Thomas, Vice President (chair, Education and Outreach Committee)


Yang is starting her first time period as president and her second time period as a Governor-at-Large, a place for which she was nominated by the sitting Academy President and elected by the Board of Governors. Gigliotti, Karaszewski, Linde, Mussenden, and Thomas had been re-elected as officers. It would be the first officer stint for Dorman, Howell Taylor, and Taylor-Coleman.

Yangs intensive film-producing credit embrace The Joy Luck Club, The People vs. Larry Flynt, Zero Effect, High Crimes, Dark Matter, Shanghai Calling and the Oscar-nominated animated function Over the Moon. She gained an Emmy for the HBO movie Indictment: The McMartin Trial. A member of the Academys Producers Branch since 2002, Yang most not too long ago served on the Board as vp and chair of the Membership Committee and previous to that, the Membership and Governance Committee. She can be co-chair of the Academys Asian Affinity Group.

The Board of Governors units the Academys strategic imaginative and prescient, preserves the organizations monetary well being, and assures the success of its mission. For an entire itemizing of the Academys 2022-2023 Board of Governors.


The Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences is a world neighborhood of greater than 10,000 of essentially the most achieved artists, filmmakers, and executives working in movie. In addition to celebrating and recognizing excellence in filmmaking by the Oscars, the Academy helps a variety of initiatives to advertise the artwork and science of the flicks, together with public programming, instructional outreach, and the Academy Museum of Motion Pictures.


(function(d, s, id) { var js, fjs = d.getElementsByTagName(s)[0]; if (d.getElementById(id)) return; js = d.createElement(s); js.id = id; js.src=”https://connect.facebook.net/en_US/sdk.js#xfbml=1&appId=249643311490&version=v2.3″; fjs.parentNode.insertBefore(js, fjs); }(document, ‘script’, ‘facebook-jssdk’));


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

16 + two =

Back to top button